

CENTRAL OTAGO BOWLS INC.

Minutes 24th Annual General Meeting held at the Alexandra Bowling Club on Sunday 15 June 2025 at 2.00 pm.

Welcome: President, Trevor Cowan, welcomed everyone to the 24th Annual General Meeting of Central Otago Bowls Inc.

PRESENT:

Board Members & Operations Committee: Trevor Cowan (President), John Lochhead (Vice President), Pauline Seaton (Secretary), John Knapp, Peter Dunne, Margaret O'Connor, Ric Hunt, Ian Clouston, Angela Wilson, Barbara Wilson

Life Member: Ruth Grant (Alexandra)

Delegates and Club Members: ADC: Steve Archer ALEXANDRA: Mike Harris, Len Lynskey, Kathryn Lynskey, Bill Clements; BANNOCKBURN: Allan Rickard, Terry Scott; CROMWELL: Richard Bryne, Graeme Tiplady, Les Wilson, Pat Risk; PATEAROA: Pat Dowling; QUEENSTOWN: Jane Anderson; RANFURLY: Wayne Hillary; WAIPIATA: Val McSkimming; WANAKA: Simon Nyhoff, Stu Hurley.

APOLOGIES: Maria Wallis (Clyde), Jackie Brook (Cromwell), Carl Street (Roxburgh), John Claridge (Naseby), Richard Morgan (Omakau).

Moved: J Lochhead Seconded: S Nyhoff

IN MEMORIAM: Members observed a moment silence in memory of past members – ADC:Graham Crighton; ALEXANDRA: Brent Hickey, Peter Partridge; ARROWTOWN: Archie Flint, Ian McAuley; CLYDE: John Laing; CROMWELL: Jimmie Grive, Allan Cushnie; PATEAROA: Norma Manson; QUEENSTOWN: Margaret Carlaw, Alistair Munro; RANFURLY: Ann Cotton.

CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES: That the Minutes be taken as read and signed as a correct record of the 23rd Annual General Meeting held on 16 June 2024.

Moved: R Hunt Seconded: J Knapp

REPORTS: Moved that the Reports as circulated be accepted.

Moved: J Lochhead Seconded: J Knapp

FINANCIAL: Centre Manager presented the Annual Accounts and Draft 2026 Budget which were approved.

Moved: P Seaton

Seconded: M O'Connor

CARRIED

ELECTION OF OFFICERS:

Board: Nominations received at closing date and therefore elected:

John Lochhead (Alexandra)

John Knapp (Omakau)

Margaret O'Connor (Q'town)

Peter Dunne (Arrowtown)

Maria Wallis (Clyde)

Allan Rickard (Bannockburn)

President

Board

Board

Board

Board

Tournament Secretaries: Men: Ian Clouston (Omakau)

Women: Angela Wilson (Naseby/Omakau)

Convenor of Selectors: Men: Terry Scott (Bannockburn)

Women: Carl Street (Roxburgh)

Director of Coaching:Carl Street (Roxburgh)Publicity Officer:Barbara Wilson (Wanaka)Trustees:Centre Manager, John Knapp,

Membership Fees: That the 2025/26 Centre Affiliation and Handbook Levy be

& Handbook: increased to \$31.00 plus GST

Moved: M O'Connor Seconded: P Dunne

CARRIED

GENERAL BUSINESS:

1. Adoption of the Central Otago Bowls Inc. Constitution dated 15 June 2025:

Moved: J Lochhead Seconded: J Knapp

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

2. Vote on Remits:

Saturday Pennants: Division 1

Remit 1 Introduced by Clyde Bowling Club:

- a) That Division 1 comprises 14 teams from 11 clubs in Central Otago. Each club can only enter one team, and the remaining places are given to the clubs with the highest finishing positions the year prior. For example, if all 11 clubs enter a team, the remaining 3 teams are offered to the clubs which finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the season prior. If any of those clubs decline a second team in Division 1, the offer goes to the next highest club (in this example 4th). No club can have more than two teams.
- b) There is a finals day between the top 4 clubs each year.
- c) The first and last day of Division Pennants to be a double header (morning and afternoon games).

Moved: A Rickard Seconded: S Nyhoff

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Remit Introduced by Bannockburn Bowling Club: Withdrawn

Remit Introduced by Omakau Bowling Club: Lapsed as Bannockburn Remit was withdrawn.

Saturday Pennants: Division 2

Remit 2 Introduced by Clyde Bowling Club:

- That Division 2 comprises as many teams entered from all 11 Central Otago clubs
- Split into two sections which are mixed with equal teams from east and west Central Otago.
- Multiple teams from one club are split evenly across both sections.
- Finals day between the top 4 teams the top 2 from each section. Only players who have played a minimum of five Division 2 pennants games can play for their club in the Division 2 finals day.

Moved: J Knapp Seconded: T Cowan

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Interclub Sevens Competition:

Remit 3 Introduced by Clyde Bowling Club:

"That the Women and Men's Interclub 7s competitions be held on separate weekends as happened previously"

REASONING: Having both events on the same weekend creates problems for the host clubs having members available to assist with the various duties required to host the competition.

Moved: S Nyhoff Seconded: R Hunt CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Restoring the Club-Level Pathway to Champion of Champions:

Remit Introduced by Wanaka Bowling Club:

"Reinstating the pathway to the Champion of Champion events through success at club level." REASONING: This structure provides bowlers from all clubs, regardless of their performance in Centre Events, the opportunity to gain valuable experience and compete at higher levels. The Wanaka Bowling Club was not in favour of the recent change prioritizing qualification through Centre Events. We believe this adjustment has excluded many bowlers from smaller clubs who would greatly benefit from the competitive exposure provided by Champion of Champion events. These proposed changes aim to balance the calendar, prioritize club-level engagement, and create a more inclusive pathway for bowlers across the region.

Moved: S Nyhoff Seconded: L Lynskey

Vote: 12 FOR 5 AGAINST

Bowls NZ Require 75% agreement

NOT CARRIED

3. Query regarding Centre Champion of Champion Hosts:

Wayne Hillary (Ranfurly) queried the method used to allocate Host Clubs for the Centre Champion of Champion events.

1. Singles and Pairs: Men and Women at same 2 green club over same weekend - Saturday Singles and Sunday Pairs.

Alphabetically rostered – Alexandra, Clyde, Queenstown, Roxburgh.

Clubs host once every 4 years.

2025: Alexandra hosted Men & Women Singles & Pairs

2026: Clyde to host Men & Women Singles & Pairs

2. Triples and Fours: Men and Women at separate single green clubs over same weekend – Saturday Triples and Sunday Fours.

Alphabetically rostered – ADC, Arrowtown, Bannockburn, Cromwell, Hawea, Middlemarch, Naseby, Omakau, Patearoa, Ranfurly, Waipiata, Wanaka. Clubs host either Men or Women once every 6 years.

2025: Arrowtown hosted Men's Triples and Fours

Patearoa hosted Women's Triples and Fours

2026: Bannockburn to host Men's Triples and Fours

Ranfurly to host Women's Triples and Fours

Any changes to be discussed at a General Meeting. Remit to be formulated and voted on by delegates at subsequent meeting.

Meeting Closed: 2.58pm		
Confirmed:	President	Date: